How many planets are in our solar system? What is the biggest planet?

As of my last knowledge update in January 2022, there are eight recognized planets in our solar system. In order of their distance from the Sun, they are:

  1. Mercury
  2. Venus
  3. Earth
  4. Mars
  5. Jupiter
  6. Saturn
  7. Uranus
  8. Neptune

Pluto was considered the ninth planet until 2006 when it was reclassified as a “dwarf planet” by the International Astronomical Union (IAU).

The largest planet in our solar system is Jupiter. It is a gas giant and has a diameter of about 86,881 miles (139,822 kilometers), making it more than 11 times wider than Earth. Jupiter is primarily composed of hydrogen and helium and is known for its strong magnetic field and numerous moons, including the four largest known as the Galilean moons: Io, Europa, Ganymede, and Callisto.

Leave a Reply